Happy 25th Elmer!!

 

 

It’s an unbelievable 25 years since David McKee’s multi-coloured patchwork elephant first hit our bookshelves, and London gallery The Illustration Cupboard is hosting an exhibition celebrating this anniversary.

On sale are some of David’s iconic images from his many books over the year as as well as for publicity and commercial works. I’m not sure I could raise the thousands needed for the big pieces, but I may look into the special limited edition anniversary book.

Naturally, that would be put on a high ‘sticky finger free zone’ shelf, but as his books have graced my kid’s shelves, beds, backpacks and classrooms for many a year, I’m certain they wouldn’t mind me keeping just one to myself.

 

The exhibition runs until June 7th and would make a great little stop off over half term if you’re in that area.

Leave a Reply

